For my Birthday I went shopping…

So today was my birthday and I am now 32 years old and yes I am still collecting PS2 games weirdly enough. This is the haul I picked up today from Cash Converters and a small Indie Shop I know in Weymouth. Eagle Eyed reader might spot that I do in fact have a “replacement” in this list that’s because my original Smackdown: Here Comes The Pain was pretty beat up to the point where my poor PS2 was having trouble reading it. It was a second hand copy which I picked up from a bin somewhere years ago so I knew it was not going to be in the best of shape when I got it.

Anyway I shall start with the driving games as these are some of the more interesting games I managed to pick up. Le Mans 24hrs is well, Le Mans! You can race in it for 24 hours if you so wish and it looks like it’s a pretty decent game all things considering. Next up is the budget racer Road Trip published by “Play It”. This is a very interesting game as it is a very customisable racer with a ton of tracks and bonus games inside. It’s very arcadey and does not take itself too seriously I mean you can race around someone’s old Japanese castle and play car football in this game. I hope to do a video of this game at some point. Next we have the truly bizarre X-reme Express which appears to be a train racing game!? Yeah this looked so odd that I had to go and check it out and no I have no idea how this game plays I just saw it at the shop and thought to myself that I had to have it.

Ok now the final racing game I picked up today happens to be one of my favourite racing games of all time, ToCA Race Driver 3 by Codemasters. This game was great because unlike Gran Turismo which seems to get all the love when it comes to PS2 sim racers, TocA 3 actually had many racing disciplines and plenty of cars on the track, 21 at once to be exact. Obviously their experience making the Indy Racing games really helped them push the PS2 to it’s limit in terms of amount of cars on track. ToCA was great because one minute you could be racing a GT racing car then the next a Dune Buggy or even a Monster Truck. There was so much meaningful content in this game that it kept me hooked for a very long time back on the PC.

GunCom2 is a light gun shooting game which borrowed it’s name from NAMCO’s PS2 lightgun of the same name. Heroes of the Pacific is another Codemasters game which is a World War 2 flight sim game. Not entirely sure about how good the  game is because in all honesty I have never herd of it till I saw it in the shop so I knew I had to have it. Then there is Seek and Destroy which I think Takara made. I think they also made Road Trip and Penny Racers too but these budget publishers seem to try and do everything they can to hide the actual game devs on the box for some reason. Anyway it’s a similar sort of deal to Road Trip, heavily customisable tanks duking it out over several missions and the game does not take itself too seriously hence the reason why you can put ski’s on your tank during one point in the game. I tried this game over my freind’s house once and liked it a lot so I have been waiting for this game to show up for awhile now, I am glad I found it!

Now on too the fighting games on this post. Rumble Roses is Smackdown with Women and a lot of “Sex Appeal” thrown in. It’s very smutty was quite popular in Japan hence a lot of budget publishers like D3 publishers tried to rip it off in there games too. The game itself is fun too play but taking it too the counter is like taking a copy of “NUTS” to a counter, you are going to get a look from the till assistant at the shop heh. Finally we have Marc Ecko’s Getting Up, a Jet Set Radio inspired romp where you play as a tagger battling other taggers for the best spots in the city this might even include getting in to actual fights with makeshift weapons. Kinda stupid when you think about it but I did not have this game and it was a better choice than the parade of old sports games that where in Cash Converters at the time.

Anyway I hope you guys enjoyed this write up I will see you guys soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

